English Български Romani
Supported by:
Business Support Programme

The Community acquis is the body of common rights and obligations which bind all the Member States together within the European Union. It is constantly evolving and comprises:

Thus the Community acquis comprises not only Community law in the strict sense, but also all acts adopted under the second and thirdpillars of the European Union and the common objectives laid down in the Treaties. The Union has committed itself to maintaining the Community acquis in its entirety and developing it further. Applicant countries have to accept the Community acquis before they can join the Union. Derogations from the acquis are granted only in exceptional circumstances and are limited in scope. To integrate into the European Union, applicant countries will have to transpose the acquis into their national legislation andimplement it from the moment of their accession.


Single institutional framework



Source: European Commission,


© ASA - IDEA a.i.s.b.l.